You really need to be at the planning board meeting on Thursday!

24 Jan

I’ll try to keep this low key, as far as pep talks go.

Its vitally important that we have a huge outpouring of support at Thursday’s Planning board meeting.  This meeting will be a turning point, where they reveal whether they feel Rt 33 can support dealerships.   As I’ve noted before… the jist of the planning report on 33 has been.   We made mistakes on 9, lets not make them on 33.   An obvious extension to that is TO STOP MAKING THE MISTAKES ON 9!  Virtually everyone I’ve spoken to believes this to be a bad idea, if they think about it for more than 30 seconds.

I’ll state a fact as far as I’m concerned.   Anyone official that votes for this, will NEVER get my vote.    It has been pretty easy to get people on board with this issue, through effective use of the website, and e-mails.   These will be just as effective reminders at election time, should this proceed.  Thats a promise.

The master plan has guided responsible development for decades.   I can’t say I’ve been unhappy with what businesses have emerged over the years.   This proposal to divert from this plan is a mistake, and in my view, puts everything up for grabs going forward.

I also denounce the tactics of the board, of threatening with other worse  approved uses.  “Would you rather have a convention center?”   Wow!    Let me think… NO!  Trust me, that will be met with opposition as well.

This needs to be killed at the planning board level.   It may go to the town council, which is some of the same people, so go figure…    but the louder we complain of how much time is being wasted entertaining this bad idea.. the better chance this goes away, sooner rather than later.

Further news on this will be available on:

http://www.facebook.com/awarenessregistryofmanalapan

This site will track this an other concerns affecting Manalapan.

 

Leave a comment